Showing 2028 results

Authority record

Litherland, Jackie, poet, pen name S. J. Litherland

  • Person

S.J. Litherland's work encompasses love, politics, loss, and philosophy. She has six published collections of poetry, The Long Interval (Bloodaxe 1986), Flowers of Fever (Iron Press 1992), The Apple Exchange (Flambard 1999), The Work of the Wind (Flambard 2006), The Homage (Iron Press 2006) and The Absolute Bonus of Rain (Flambard 2010).

Her highly praised The Work of the Wind is a four-part book about her years with the poet Barry MacSweeney and The Homage is a sequence of poems about cricket and former England captain Nasser Hussain which was nominated for Cricket Book of the Year. Her work has appeared in various anthologies, most notably in New Women Poets (Bloodaxe 1993), Forward Book of Poetry 2001 and North by North East (Iron 2006). She was co-editor of The Poetry of Perestroika (Iron) and has edited many books. She has received two Northern Writers' Awards, 1994, 2000. Originally from Warwickshire, she has lived in Durham City since 1965, bringing up a son and daughter and working as a journalist (as Jackie Levitas). Now a part-time tutor and mentor in creative writing, she is also a founding member of Vane Women writers collective and press. She has four grandsons.

Sweeney, Matthew Gerard, 1952-2018, poet

  • Person
  • 1952-2018

Matthew Sweeney was born in Lifford, Co. Donegal, Ireland in 1952. He moved to London in 1973 and studied at the Polytechnic of North London and the University of Freiburg. After living in Berlin and Timisoara for some years, he returned to Ireland and now lives in Cork.

His poetry collections include A Dream of Maps (Raven Arts Press, 1981), A Round House (Raven Arts Press, 1983), The Lame Waltzer (Raven Arts Press, 1985), Blue Shoes (Secker & Warburg, 1989), Cacti (Secker & Warburg, 1992), The Bridal Suite (Jonathan Cape, 1997) and A Smell of Fish (Jonathan Cape, 2000), Selected Poems (Jonathan Cape, 2002), Sanctuary (Jonathan Cape, 2004), Black Moon (Jonathan Cape, 2007), The Night Post: A Selection (Salt, 2010) and Horse Music (Bloodaxe Books, 2013). Black Moon was shortlisted for the T.S. Eliot Prize and for the Irish Times Poetry Now Award. Horse Music is a Poetry Book Society Recommendation. He has also published editions of selected poems in Canada (Picnic on Ice, Vehicule Press, 2002) and in Germany (Rosa Milch, bilingual trs. Jan Wagner, Berlin Verlag, 2008).

He won a Cholmondeley Award in 1987 and an Arts Council Writers' Award in 1999. He has also published poetry for children, with collections including The Flying Spring Onion (1992), Fatso in the Red Suit (1995) and Up on the Roof: New and Selected Poems (2001). His novels for children include The Snow Vulture (1992) and Fox (2002). He edited The New Faber Book of Children's Poems (2003) and Walter De la Mare: Poems (2006) for Faber; co-edited Emergency Kit: Poems for Strange Times (Faber, 1996) with Jo Shapcott; and co-wrote Writing Poetry (Teach Yourself series, Hodder, 1997) with John Hartley Williams.

Matthew Sweeney has held residencies at the University of East Anglia and the South Bank Centre in London, and was Poet in Residence at the National Library for the Blind as part of the Poetry Places scheme run by the Poetry Society in London. He is a member of Aosdána.

Watts, Anthony, unknown, poet

  • Person
  • unknown

Anthony Watts has had poems published in magazines and anthologies in addition to four published collections. He has won the Lake Aske Memorial Award 1978, the Michael Johnson Memorial Prize 1979, the S.T. Coleridge Memorial Poetry Prize 2008 and first prizes in competitions run by Rotherham Metro Writers (2001), Preston Writers Guild (2001 & 2002), Christchurch Writers (1993, 2002, 2004, 2006, and 2007), Norwich Writers (2008), East Coker Poetry Group (2008) and Dillington Poets (1994), Mungrisedale Writers (2013), Poetry Space (2013) and Somerset Libraries (2013). He was also a runner up in the 1982 Arvon Foundation Competition. His poems have been broadcast on BBC Radio 4 and Somerset Sound.

Barras, Leonard, 1922 - 2008, writer

  • Person
  • 1922 - 2008

Leonard Barras wrote a weekly Through My Hat column for the Newcastle-based Sunday Sun. He also wrote for the BBC including the radio programme Wot Cheor, Geordie, the Northern Drift radio programmes and the television comedy series Mother Nature's Bloomers, starring Roy Kinnear. IROn Press published poems from this series in Hailstones on Your Father in 1979.

Barras wrote plays for Tyne Wear Theatre Company and for Live Theatre, Newcastle, as well as a novel entitled The Chocolate Cream Society which was published in 1997.

Bluebottles on my Marmaladeis a collection of short stories which were broadcast on Radio 4.

Up the Tyne in a Flummoxis a collection of short stories which were broadcast on Radio 4 between 1982 and 1986.

Through my Hatis a collection of selected columns from the 1950s Sunday Sun weekly newspaper.

Results 81 to 90 of 2028